Terms of Reference
Panel Members
Community Input
White Papers
Town Hall Meetings
Panel Meetings
Other Meetings
Contact the Panel
External Links
LRP 2000 / MTR 2005
CASCA Committees
US Decadal Review
Other links ...
    News:  LRP 2010 report available here [pdf, 3 MB]
LRP Panel

Roberto Abraham University of Toronto
Phone: 416-946-7289
Fax: 416-946-7287
E-Mail: abraham@astro.utoronto.ca
Dr. Roberto Abraham is a Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics at the University of Toronto and the Principal Investigator of the Gemini Deep Deep Survey, an international project designed to study galaxies formed when the universe was only a few billion years old. His awards include an NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship, a CFI Career Award, and U. Toronto's Outstanding Teaching Award.
René Doyon Université de Montréal
Phone: 514-343-6111 x3204
Fax: 514-343-2071
E-Mail: doyon@astro.umontreal.ca
René Doyon is an associate professor at l’Université de Montréal and holder of a NSERC industrial research chair in experimental astrophysics. He is director of Mont Mégantic Observatory and principal investigator of the Tunable Filter Imager, one of the four science instruments of the James Webb Space Telescope. His main research interests are the development astronomical instrumentation, exoplanets and brown dwarfs.
Nick Kaiser IfA, University of Hawaii
Phone: 808-988-8964
Fax: 808-988-8972
E-Mail: kaiser@ifa.hawaii.edu
Vicky Kaspi McGill University
Phone: 514-398-6412
Fax: 514-398-8434
E-Mail: kaspi@physics.mcgill.ca
Victoria Kaspi, FRSC is a Professor of Physics at McGill University, where she holds the Lorne Trottier Chair in Astrophysics and Cosmology, and a Canada Research Chair in Observational Astrophysics. Prof. Kaspi's research centres on neutron stars. She has received many awards, most recently the Prix du Quebec, and the Harvard University Sackler Lectureship, both in 2009.
Chris Pritchet (Chair) University of Victoria
Phone: (250) 721-7744
Fax: (250) 721-7715
E-Mail: pritchet@uvic.ca
Chris Pritchet is a Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy, U. Victoria; his research interests include supernovae, cosmology, data mining, galaxy evolution, and stellar populations. He is the Principal Investigator of the Canadian Network for Astronomical Research, a CANARIE-funded cloud computing project.
Ernie Seaquist University of Toronto    (Resource member - non-voting)
Phone: (905) 726-2847
Fax: (416) 971-7287
E-Mail: seaquist@astro.utoronto.ca
Ernie Seaquist is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics, University of Toronto. His primary research interest is starburst galaxies, with emphasis on the interaction between newly formed massive star clusters and the surrounding interstellar medium.
Rob Thacker St. Mary's University
Phone: (902)420-5636
Fax: (902) 496-8218
E-Mail: thacker@ap.smu.ca
Rob Thacker is an Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in the Dept. of Astronomy & Physics. His research interests are computational cosmology, galaxy formation, active galactic nuclei and weak lensing. A recipient of an ORION Award for computational astrophysics research, he is also a Director of the ACEnet computing consortium and the Canadian Astronomical Society.

Sponsored by: